You should have reminded me……bla bla bla

3 Dec

Featured image

Once an HR Manager in another company asked me whether he can pay a visit to a training program we organized to see whether the training is relevant for their organization too. I said ‘yes’ and gave all the details two weeks before.

As he didnt come on the training day, I contacted him over the phone and asked whether he comes. The reply I got was one of the most interesting common answers I get from some people.

“oh.. I totally forgot that……bla bla bla.. You should have reminded me yesterday….bla bla bla”

” ah really?? why should I? Am I the secretary of yours? ”  I swallowed my unuttered answer.

How many times have you heard this ‘you should have reminded ..’ phrase from a person who have forgotten something? This is a dirty way some people use to trow the ball to another. Is it healthy for a healthy relationship at work?

If you are a person who is having that reaction whenever you forget something, only thing you should know is, your reaction hurts other person to the extend to loose his / her respect on you. If you say that to your wife / husband when you forget to do something, he / she will not say a word as a reply, but will curse you from the inner heart for not accepting your mistake.

Accepting a mistake is the greatest thing a person can do. That shows how humble he / she is. Respect should be earned through personal values not demanded.

Leave a comment